Please note that due to the Coronavirus the next Community Council meeting will be a virtual meeting to be held on 7th September.


23rd July – The Children’s Play Area is now open, please read the new safety signage before using the Play Area.


Please click on the Coronavirus tab at the top of this page to see links for up to date information on the UK Government and Public Health Wales websites.


Shirenewton Community Council


Represents the local views and interests of the residents of the Wards of Shirenewton, Mynyddbach, Earlswood and Newchurch West to Monmouthshire County Council, which in turn, refers back to the Welsh Assembly Government.

The Community Council has 10 Councillors, the number Councillors for each Ward being:- Shirenewton (5), Mynyddbach (2), Earlswood (2) and Newchurch West (1).

The Council has a limited budget that is used to support local amenities (eg the recreation field, children’s playground, community footpaths, etc). In addition, each year organisations in the community can apply for grant aid from the Community Council.

Council meetings are held on the first Monday of every month (except Bank Holidays, when it is the second Monday) at the Recreation Hall, Shirenewton. These are open meetings starting at 7.00 pm and members of the public are very welcome to attend to either raise issues in the first 15 minutes, and/or listen to the rest of the meeting.

Some of the standard agenda items for meetings are:

Planning Applications – All applications for planning proposals are brought before the Council, which is invited by Monmouthshire County Council, to give its comments and observations from a local perspective. The Community Council can only make recommendations to Monmouthshire County Council which is the local planning authority with powers to grant planning permissions.

Monthly Police Report – The Community Police Officer reports local crime and incidents to the Community Council and will attend meetings if required. This is a two way process and the Council can also make the CPO aware of local issues.

Matters of Local Concern -. This is where councillors raise issues that have been brought to their attention by members of the public or are matters that they feel need discussion or action.

The County Councillor for the Shirenewton community is Louise Brown, who also attends the meetings and acts as a link with the County Council for all local issues. You can find contact details of all the Councillors and the Clerk here.